HDD Reference Thread

Comments and discussion on any and all topics.
User avatar
Darkfoxx
Site Admin
Posts: 9655
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 7:09 pm
Location: Alexandria, VA
Contact:

Postby Darkfoxx » Wed Jan 27, 2010 4:37 pm

Didn't want to bump an old thread, but I just wanted to say that OCZ is by far the slowest company when it comes to rebates.

If you look back in this thread, I got my SSD installed on October 22nd. I sent out the rebate form the next day.

I finally get the money today in the mail. It only took them a little over 3 months to send it. It's not even a check anymore, either. It's a Citi bank prepaid check card.

:roll:
Gaming:
Image
Workstation:
Image

User avatar
Jif
Jimmy Jams
Posts: 6896
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 12:49 am

Postby Jif » Wed Jan 27, 2010 5:28 pm

um thats not too bad. they normally take a few months. also, the rebates arent normally handled by the manufacturer. they get handled by companies that exclusively do rebates...you'd think theyd be good at it by now

TexRob
Got Allfum
Posts: 660
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 3:33 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC

Postby TexRob » Thu Jan 28, 2010 9:01 am

Hmm, I got my over Christmas, but I sent the rebate in like at the beginning of December. I did the expidited crap, wher they give you a pre-paid VISA card, and I just got it last week. Most of the time where they take a chunk to get it to you faster, it's really fast, this was not.

User avatar
Jif
Jimmy Jams
Posts: 6896
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 12:49 am

Maximize SSD Performance with the SSD Tweak Utility

Postby Jif » Wed Feb 10, 2010 8:16 pm


User avatar
Jif
Jimmy Jams
Posts: 6896
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 12:49 am

Postby Jif » Thu Mar 11, 2010 12:02 am

i updated my 2nd post on page one with my new SSD scores. it's the new value series drive from Intel. not earth-shattering but good for just over 100 bucks. its faster than the 30GB OCZ and patriot drives and 10GB more

also im really thinking of raiding 2 together but im not sure how they work in raid. i'll have to do some research. i hear SSDs have issues with some raid controllers, but i dont know about onboard raid

User avatar
Darkfoxx
Site Admin
Posts: 9655
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 7:09 pm
Location: Alexandria, VA
Contact:

Postby Darkfoxx » Sat Mar 27, 2010 10:38 pm

I've been running Crystal Disk Mark every so often to see how the performance is over time...and I had this little surprise today:

Image

The fuck? Go look at my 1st post in this thread for comparison. This is a bit unsettling.
Gaming:
Image
Workstation:
Image

User avatar
dun dun dun... chips
Papes
Posts: 3287
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 2:08 pm
Location: WOOOOOO
Contact:

Postby dun dun dun... chips » Sun Mar 28, 2010 12:06 am

that is a rather drastic decrease.
Image

User avatar
Jif
Jimmy Jams
Posts: 6896
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 12:49 am

Postby Jif » Sun Mar 28, 2010 1:51 am

Darkfoxx wrote:I've been running Crystal Disk Mark every so often to see how the performance is over time...and I had this little surprise today:

Image

The fuck? Go look at my 1st post in this thread for comparison. This is a bit unsettling.


are you sure trim is working? did you format windows with only the SSD hooked up?

User avatar
Darkfoxx
Site Admin
Posts: 9655
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 7:09 pm
Location: Alexandria, VA
Contact:

Postby Darkfoxx » Sun Mar 28, 2010 12:10 pm

Jif wrote:are you sure trim is working? did you format windows with only the SSD hooked up?

To see if TRIM is working you type "fsutil behavior query DisableDeleteNotify" into an Admin level command prompt. It should return a "0" if TRIM is enabled, which mine does.

Why would installing Windows with only the SSD connected make any difference? As long as you installed it on the correct boot drive, I don't see a problem. Correct me if I'm wrong, though.

I might post up on the OCZ forums.
Gaming:
Image
Workstation:
Image

User avatar
dun dun dun... chips
Papes
Posts: 3287
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 2:08 pm
Location: WOOOOOO
Contact:

Postby dun dun dun... chips » Sun Mar 28, 2010 1:58 pm

Darkfoxx wrote:As long as you installed it on the correct boot drive, I don't see a problem.


this is true. there shouldnt be any difference.
the programming of the install is no different for any harddrives, as they all use the same protocols, the only software changes are for the other hardware in the box.
Image

User avatar
Jif
Jimmy Jams
Posts: 6896
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 12:49 am

Postby Jif » Mon Mar 29, 2010 8:03 am

Darkfoxx wrote:
Jif wrote:are you sure trim is working? did you format windows with only the SSD hooked up?

To see if TRIM is working you type "fsutil behavior query DisableDeleteNotify" into an Admin level command prompt. It should return a "0" if TRIM is enabled, which mine does.

Why would installing Windows with only the SSD connected make any difference? As long as you installed it on the correct boot drive, I don't see a problem. Correct me if I'm wrong, though.

I might post up on the OCZ forums.


If the only drives installed are SSDs then Windows 7 does many SSD optimizations naturally during setup that you'd manually have to do later. it disables defrag and indexing on the drive while leaving the services enabled for HDDs. it does some other stuff too but i dont remember.

when i installed with just SSD hooked up and then manually did SSD tweaks, almost every setting was already changed.

your write speeds are ridiculously low, as if trim is disabled. it looks like you finally wrote to every block, which is when trim would normally make the difference in keeping write speeds up, sacrificing file deletion speed for write speed.

is your sata controller set to AHCI and the drive set to be optimized for performance?

User avatar
Darkfoxx
Site Admin
Posts: 9655
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 7:09 pm
Location: Alexandria, VA
Contact:

Postby Darkfoxx » Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:55 am

I did all those manual tweaks right after I installed Win 7. The OCZ forums had a pretty decent guide.

I'll check on the AHCI stuffs. Really busy today and the rest of the week :D
Gaming:
Image
Workstation:
Image

User avatar
Darkfoxx
Site Admin
Posts: 9655
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 7:09 pm
Location: Alexandria, VA
Contact:

Postby Darkfoxx » Mon Mar 29, 2010 11:25 am

I was curious so I ended up checking.

When I set my SATA controller to AHCI (currently running on IDE mode), I can't get past the Windows loading screen without the computer rebooting.

Ideas? I do remember reading somewhere that AHCI wasn't recommended for my drive.
Gaming:
Image
Workstation:
Image

User avatar
Jif
Jimmy Jams
Posts: 6896
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 12:49 am

Postby Jif » Mon Mar 29, 2010 12:26 pm

Darkfoxx wrote:I was curious so I ended up checking.

When I set my SATA controller to AHCI (currently running on IDE mode), I can't get past the Windows loading screen without the computer rebooting.

Ideas? I do remember reading somewhere that AHCI wasn't recommended for my drive.


AHCI has to be set before you install windows. non-boot drives can be switched fine but windows and probably other OS' need to be installed in each mode to work. i was told TRIM requires AHCI but it appears maybe it doesnt. either way, you HAVE to run the default Microsoft storage controller drivers. dont install Intel/AMD/nvidia/RAID controller drivers because as of my SSD purchase only the MS generic drivers utilized TRIM. you can check in device manager by looking at the Driver tab of the properties page for your SSD. it should say Microsoft Windows and not Intel or whatever chipset MFG you have.

also if u have a HD activity led on your case you can watch it after deleting a very large file (10+GB) as it should blink like normal and then go solid for a little while as TRIM does shit.

User avatar
Darkfoxx
Site Admin
Posts: 9655
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 7:09 pm
Location: Alexandria, VA
Contact:

Postby Darkfoxx » Mon Mar 29, 2010 12:29 pm

Jif wrote:AHCI has to be set before you install windows. non-boot drives can be switched fine but windows and probably other OS' need to be installed in each mode to work.

Ahhhh gotcha. I guess I could reformat when I have some time. I'l just connect the SSD too, so everything gets set up right.

Jif wrote:you HAVE to run the default Microsoft storage controller drivers. dont install Intel/AMD/nvidia/RAID controller drivers because as of my SSD purchase only the MS generic drivers utilized TRIM. you can check in device manager by looking at the Driver tab of the properties page for your SSD. it should say Microsoft Windows and not Intel or whatever chipset MFG you have.

Yeah I'm using Microsoft drivers. That was mentioned in the OCZ forum guide, but AHCI was not.
Gaming:
Image
Workstation:
Image


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests