Centari's Frankenstein

Down here at the pawn shop... Buy, sell, and trade your unused PC parts and other items collecting dust. Who knows, someone else here may need your junk! Posting online deals are also encouraged.
User avatar
Jif
Jimmy Jams
Posts: 6894
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 12:49 am

Postby Jif » Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:31 am


User avatar
Jif
Jimmy Jams
Posts: 6894
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 12:49 am

Postby Jif » Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:44 am

now download some real games i couldnt run on my phone (maple story).

Crank up the settings on TF2 and L4D
Crank up WAR (youll notice it doesnt look much different then before...)

Games you need to buy:
CoD5 (nothing special but lots of foliage and debris make it look decent)

games you need to buy or simply acquire:
Crysis
Crysis Warhead (both have the best current gfx quality available)
Far Cry2 (stop when it starts getting boring and repetitive)
Stalker: Clear Sky (didnt like but looks nice)
Fallout 3 (looks OK but good gameplay)
Bioshock (looks good and good gameplay and story)

i'd start by maxing quality on every game and only lower settings if its choppy. 1st setting to lower is FSAA aka AA aka MSAA, usually designated 2x-8x, some have 16x settings. the setting called Ansiosotropic Filtering aka AF should be @ 16 for every game in the world and never lowered ever. textures, models, level of detail, etc should all be maxed in every game except Crysis. Crysis will be a PITA to adjust for best settings since it has dozens of variables.

youll want your desktop and every game set to 1680x1050 and youll never want to lower it, ever, unless it's a very old game that doesnt support widescreen. you want to keep the resolution at max if at all possible...lower quality settings if its choppy, not the resolution. shouldnt be a problem for your setup and any game out there.

User avatar
Jif
Jimmy Jams
Posts: 6894
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 12:49 am

Postby Jif » Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:49 am

it's almost like our wittle baby is growed up

User avatar
Darkfoxx
Site Admin
Posts: 9640
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 7:09 pm
Location: Alexandria, VA
Contact:

Postby Darkfoxx » Tue Jan 13, 2009 11:52 am

Congrats man!

I see you only have 2 GBs of ram. What happened there?

Could you also do me a favor? Download and run this: http://www.wprime.net/?q=download&f=wprime_200.zip

Right click on the exe and Run as Administrator on Vista. Make sure the thread # is set to 4 (Click on Set Thread Count, but should be automatic).

Run 32M.

Post the resulting # of total seconds.

I'm just curious because the CPU you got is the replacement for the Q6600, and I just want to see how much of an improvement it is.

Hopefully you learned a lot and will be able to do the actual building next time. We're always here for hardware questions!
Gaming:
Image
Workstation:
Image

User avatar
Centari
Is Kind Of A Big Deal
Posts: 882
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 8:33 pm

Postby Centari » Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:25 pm

Brian intended to give me 4 GBs of ram... but ended up with two, so either it was a mix-up, or I just need to buy more ram. And after the amount of money I just spent, that isn't happening anytime soon.

I'm at school now, so I'll run the whateverthefuckthatis when I get home.
Image

User avatar
Centari
Is Kind Of A Big Deal
Posts: 882
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 8:33 pm

Postby Centari » Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:41 pm

UPDATE:

I ran the CS:S benchmark test and maxed the fps in several sections.

overall, the games that I've fired up look simply amazing compared to what I'm used to, and in short, I'm extremely happy with my new build.

I want to take this oppotunity to thank everybody that helped me out:

Brian: two sticks of ram and helping me build the damn thing.
Foxx: The the hard drive and being on call to look up specs on shit when me and Brian were in the store.
Tenken: the kick-ass graphics cards and the Vista OS.....and the condoms.
Jif: recommending some good shit and letting me know what kind of case I'm looking for.
Reid: being a huge faggot.

I just want you guys to know how much your donations and support concerning my new build means to me. This is truly one of the greatest gifts I can remember receiving, and I am very grateful.


Thanks again, and see you all on tonight,

Mike.
Image

User avatar
Jif
Jimmy Jams
Posts: 6894
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 12:49 am

Postby Jif » Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:53 pm

did you play all the games i listed yet??

User avatar
Jif
Jimmy Jams
Posts: 6894
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 12:49 am

Postby Jif » Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:54 pm

you can ADD 4GBs ram for like $45

User avatar
Centari
Is Kind Of A Big Deal
Posts: 882
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 8:33 pm

Postby Centari » Tue Jan 13, 2009 1:16 pm

Jif wrote:did you play all the games i listed yet??


Probably won't get around to playing most of them, simply for the fact that I'm terrible at splitting time between games.

I'll eventually branch out into games like Fallout 3, even if only for a little while. I'll play Bioshock too, because I already had it down on steam, but could never play it on my laptop.
Image

User avatar
Harness
Da Bumble
Posts: 2069
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 6:13 pm

Postby Harness » Tue Jan 13, 2009 7:20 pm

Congrats Centari! isnt the whole building a comp. process cool?
I type a bunch of shit then people go fuk themselves

User avatar
Centari
Is Kind Of A Big Deal
Posts: 882
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 8:33 pm

Postby Centari » Thu Jan 15, 2009 12:25 pm

Harness wrote:Congrats Centari! isnt the whole building a comp. process cool?


Fer Shiz.


P.S. I gots duh bumble.
Image

User avatar
Darkfoxx
Site Admin
Posts: 9640
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 7:09 pm
Location: Alexandria, VA
Contact:

Postby Darkfoxx » Tue Jan 20, 2009 6:40 pm

Centari's 32M wPrime score: 15.672 sec (2.5 GHz Q9300)
My 32M wPrime score: 22.401 sec (2.4 GHz Q6600)


That's a pretty big increase in speed for .1 GHz and a higher frequency.
Gaming:
Image
Workstation:
Image

User avatar
Jif
Jimmy Jams
Posts: 6894
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 12:49 am

Postby Jif » Tue Jan 20, 2009 7:06 pm

make sure youre using the exact same wprime versions. the difference between 1.55 and 1.6 1024 scores was about 25 seconds for me without changing anything. make sure youre both using 2.0

User avatar
Jif
Jimmy Jams
Posts: 6894
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 12:49 am

Postby Jif » Tue Jan 20, 2009 7:19 pm

btw my 32m score is 13.4s and 1024m is 402.8s

in these types of tests, # of cores is most important, followed by raw clockspeed, then advanced instruction sets unless there's a big discrepancy b/w then like SSE2 and SSE4.1.

Q9300 support SSE4 or 4.1, i forget. Q6600/6700 only supports SSE3, by the shear clockspeed of my CPU trumps both until you OC the Q9300 to the same 3.6ghz

User avatar
Darkfoxx
Site Admin
Posts: 9640
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 7:09 pm
Location: Alexandria, VA
Contact:

Postby Darkfoxx » Tue Jan 20, 2009 8:48 pm

Jif wrote:make sure youre both using 2.0

Yeah, we are both using 2.0.

I'll see if my score improves once I OC...should be in the next few days if I find the time.
Gaming:
Image
Workstation:
Image


Return to “The Pawn Shop”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest