LF video card

Down here at the pawn shop... Buy, sell, and trade your unused PC parts and other items collecting dust. Who knows, someone else here may need your junk! Posting online deals are also encouraged.
User avatar
Harness
Da Bumble
Posts: 2069
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 6:13 pm

LF video card

Postby Harness » Thu Sep 03, 2009 11:28 pm

Before I shop around I was wondering if any of you guys have a video card you looking to unload for a good price. Pretty much anything better then the 8600 will do.

If not can you recommend something nice for me to stay under the 100 dollar range?
I type a bunch of shit then people go fuk themselves

User avatar
Darkfoxx
Site Admin
Posts: 9640
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 7:09 pm
Location: Alexandria, VA
Contact:

Postby Darkfoxx » Thu Sep 03, 2009 11:43 pm

I have one of Tenken's "8800 Ultra Black Pearl", not sure if it works though. I don't have a rig to test it on, but these are the cards that were artifacting in Mike's rig. I might swap out my gtx 260 in my rig to see if it works.

Mike gave it to me because he assumed that it doesn't work, but I'm not sure about that.
Gaming:
Image
Workstation:
Image

User avatar
Jif
Jimmy Jams
Posts: 6894
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 12:49 am

Postby Jif » Thu Sep 03, 2009 11:48 pm

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6814121326

just over $100 but it's the best card and best buy under $150.

if you really cant go over $100, http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6814161260

or an open box version for a lot cheaper: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 814102822R

User avatar
Harness
Da Bumble
Posts: 2069
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 6:13 pm

Postby Harness » Fri Sep 04, 2009 8:19 pm

Im all Nvidia right now. EVGA 680 SLI. Is there anything special that you need to do when your switching to Radon or Asus? I dont like complication when I go to game.
I type a bunch of shit then people go fuk themselves

User avatar
Darkfoxx
Site Admin
Posts: 9640
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 7:09 pm
Location: Alexandria, VA
Contact:

Postby Darkfoxx » Fri Sep 04, 2009 9:16 pm

I'd go for an Nvidia 9800 if you want something new. You can get a 9800 GT for less than 100.
Gaming:
Image
Workstation:
Image

User avatar
Jif
Jimmy Jams
Posts: 6894
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 12:49 am

Postby Jif » Sat Sep 05, 2009 5:07 pm

Darkfoxx wrote:I'd go for an Nvidia 9800 if you want something new. You can get a 9800 GT for less than 100.

no theyre all compatible with each other.

per 9800GT, the HD4770 and 4830 are a good 15% faster at stock speeds and if OCed it becomes like 30%. both cards are overclocking MONSTERS, but are still the best buys @ stock. they dont have physx support, tho, which is really starting to suck

User avatar
Harness
Da Bumble
Posts: 2069
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 6:13 pm

Postby Harness » Sat Sep 05, 2009 5:42 pm

I've been looking at the 9800 but havent pulled the trigger yet. I've never used anything other then Gforce and I always have good expreiences with them.
I type a bunch of shit then people go fuk themselves

User avatar
Jif
Jimmy Jams
Posts: 6894
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 12:49 am

Postby Jif » Sat Sep 05, 2009 6:00 pm

Harness wrote:I've been looking at the 9800 but havent pulled the trigger yet. I've never used anything other then Gforce and I always have good expreiences with them.


9800GT is a strong card if you find it for ~$70-90, otherwise it's not very appealing. there are plenty of them for sale used on various forums easily in this price range. also, the GTS250 is a rebranded 9800GTX+ which is faster than the 9800GT and can be found for $110 on newegg.

on the cheap, tho, AMD almost always has better performance for the price, just no physx.

User avatar
Harness
Da Bumble
Posts: 2069
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 6:13 pm

Postby Harness » Fri Sep 11, 2009 10:15 pm

Man fuck me. My monitor just took a shit and wont turn on. Any of you fellas have experience fixing LCD's?
I type a bunch of shit then people go fuk themselves

User avatar
Darkfoxx
Site Admin
Posts: 9640
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 7:09 pm
Location: Alexandria, VA
Contact:

Postby Darkfoxx » Fri Sep 11, 2009 10:20 pm

I hate to ask...but is it plugged into a working outlet?

Also check your input cable.

Is it turning on at all?
Gaming:
Image
Workstation:
Image

User avatar
Harness
Da Bumble
Posts: 2069
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 6:13 pm

Postby Harness » Fri Sep 11, 2009 10:35 pm

Dont be sorry to ask the simple questons. I deal with people everyday who dump diesel fuel into their gas tank, and the nozle dosent even fit!


Yes its pluged in properly and yes the video card is working properly. It should say "no video input" on the screen when the video cable is unpluged and it doesent even do that. What its doing is this, the power button blinks repeadly and the monitor makes an electricial power noise over and over. So its trying to power up but just cant but continues to try. I removed the case and have the switchboard exposed and I didnt see any broken solder joints or wires. With the repition of the blinking I cant see it being a broken solder joint. Then it would be more spratic and maybe even work if I smacked it around a little. I found some guy on the internet with the same problem as me and he posted just 2 days ago. Someone already responded saying check your PC and cable. hopefully that guy wont be just some douch trying to get a post count up responding the simple shit. If theres another person out there with the exact same problem as me then this has to be a pattern faliure and if it is then theres gotta be a fix, unless they stoped making parts for this 5 year old monitor.

Viewsonic vx710
I type a bunch of shit then people go fuk themselves

User avatar
Harness
Da Bumble
Posts: 2069
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 6:13 pm

Postby Harness » Fri Sep 11, 2009 10:39 pm

Someone just responded to my posting.

"It could be bad caps on the power supply. Look for bulging caps and replace them if bad."

Make any sense of this?
I type a bunch of shit then people go fuk themselves

User avatar
Darkfoxx
Site Admin
Posts: 9640
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 7:09 pm
Location: Alexandria, VA
Contact:

Postby Darkfoxx » Fri Sep 11, 2009 10:43 pm

I don't know man, if it's making a weird hum when it's on...that's probably a bad sign.

I'm thinking either a bad component on the circuit board or a power supply issue (the monitors power supply).
Gaming:
Image
Workstation:
Image

User avatar
Harness
Da Bumble
Posts: 2069
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 6:13 pm

Postby Harness » Fri Sep 11, 2009 10:57 pm

I guess im just supposed to assume that "Caps" are capicators, which all look fine. Man im just fucked. If this would have just happened a little earlier I would have scratched the video card I just bought and put that money towards a new monitor.
I type a bunch of shit then people go fuk themselves

User avatar
Darkfoxx
Site Admin
Posts: 9640
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 7:09 pm
Location: Alexandria, VA
Contact:

Postby Darkfoxx » Fri Sep 11, 2009 11:02 pm

Yeah caps are capacitors.
Gaming:
Image
Workstation:
Image


Return to “The Pawn Shop”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest