Torque Android App

Talk about buying cars, fixing them, and everything in between.
User avatar
Jif
Jimmy Jams
Posts: 6896
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 12:49 am

Torque Android App

Postby Jif » Mon Jun 03, 2013 5:39 pm


User avatar
Harness
Da Bumble
Posts: 2070
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 6:13 pm

Re: Torque Android App

Postby Harness » Mon Jun 03, 2013 8:03 pm

Let me know how it is. I'm most curious about how fast and accurate your datastream would post. Basically, time taken to display information as it happens and how often it refreshes.

Maybe some screen shots of your datastream. I would like to know how many pids can be displayed and which ones on your car. In short, a pid would be any single piece of data displayed, weather it's your o2 sensor voltage or your cooling fan motor status or any other piece of data.
I type a bunch of shit then people go fuk themselves

User avatar
Darkfoxx
Site Admin
Posts: 9666
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 7:09 pm
Location: Alexandria, VA
Contact:

Re: Torque Android App

Postby Darkfoxx » Mon Jun 03, 2013 8:36 pm

BTW, I still need to post about my usb BMW obd interface thing that only cost $30.
Gaming:

Workstation:

User avatar
Jif
Jimmy Jams
Posts: 6896
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 12:49 am

Re: Torque Android App

Postby Jif » Mon Jun 03, 2013 10:33 pm


User avatar
Jif
Jimmy Jams
Posts: 6896
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 12:49 am

Re: Torque Android App

Postby Jif » Mon Jun 03, 2013 11:00 pm

Some videos of torque in action. The videos with HUD gauges is a mod for torque. It places the torque data gauges over the phone's rear-facing video so you can record yourself driving while showing the car's telemetry.



this dude put a tablet with torque in his car to basically replace his stereo. Skip to around 8:00 or 8:30 where he starts talking about torque. Its a good, brief demonstration of what can be done


This guy used it to diagnose a problem on a car by using the built in Test and Graphing features


here's a guy driving around for a while

User avatar
Jif
Jimmy Jams
Posts: 6896
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 12:49 am

Re: Torque Android App

Postby Jif » Mon Jun 03, 2013 11:13 pm

And one more of a C63 getting some track time in:

User avatar
Jif
Jimmy Jams
Posts: 6896
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 12:49 am

Re: Torque Android App

Postby Jif » Tue Jun 04, 2013 10:46 pm

Bums: here's the log file i recorded driving home. It reads data from the PIDs "as available" and i have the logger set to record every .1 seconds. It's a .csv file, which can be opened in Excel (Calc in OpenOffice). It only logs the sensors you set to log, and i didnt enable even 1/10 of them
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0ByUXICM ... sp=sharing

here are most of the sensors my OBD adapter can read. theres probably 8-12 more that didnt capture in the pic:
Screenshot_2013-06-04-14-03-41.png
Torque sensors
Screenshot_2013-06-04-14-03-41.png (653.9 KiB) Viewed 4980 times



going back to the log file...it looks like the OBD sensors only update once a second. The sensors that updated in realtime with the .1 second log interval are all phone sensors (like GPS). there are so many sensors i dont even know what to do with them all.

User avatar
Darkfoxx
Site Admin
Posts: 9666
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 7:09 pm
Location: Alexandria, VA
Contact:

Re: Torque Android App

Postby Darkfoxx » Wed Jun 05, 2013 11:27 am

That's a metric fuckton of raw data. What does it actually represent?
Gaming:

Workstation:

User avatar
Harness
Da Bumble
Posts: 2070
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 6:13 pm

Re: Torque Android App

Postby Harness » Wed Jun 05, 2013 7:54 pm

I type a bunch of shit then people go fuk themselves

User avatar
Jif
Jimmy Jams
Posts: 6896
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 12:49 am

Re: Torque Android App

Postby Jif » Thu Jun 06, 2013 12:27 am



Return to “The Garage”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests